New foreign driving license laws come into force


The measure that comes into force now covers citizens of 18 countries: Angola, Australia, Brazil, Cape Verde, Canada, Chile, United States of America, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Mozambique, New Zealand, United Kingdom , Republic of Korea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Switzerland and Turkey, according to a report by CNN Portugal.

Thus, even if these citizens have a residence permit in Portugal, they no longer need to exchange their permit for a Portuguese permit.


However, there are limits to this change, according to the Instituto da Mobilidade e dos Transportes (IMT) website, including the need for the document holder to be under 60 years old.

The rules also only apply if more than 15 years have not passed since the issuance or last renewal of the foreign license. The country issuing the license must also have been a party to the Vienna or Geneva transit conventions or have signed a bilateral agreement with Portugal.

According to the amendment, which entered into force on Monday and which had already been published in the Diário da República on July 12, the authorization only applies to driving on the territory of Portugal, or in the country of origin, since there is no question of switching to a Portuguese driving license which, for example, allows driving in the countries of the European Union.

Until Monday, citizens of countries with bilateral agreements with Portugal, such as those of the CPLP, had up to two years to exchange their driving license for a Portuguese one, at a cost of 30 euros. If the license had been issued by a country that has not adhered to international conventions, the holder must change it immediately to drive on Portuguese roads.

Source link


Comments are closed.